Skip to content

Nneka: Music Doesn’t Get Any Better

February 22, 2011
by

The other day I was surfing the net -shocking, I know- and somehow or another I stumbled across Nigerian singer/songwriter Nneka.

I don’t know about you, but I’m extremely picky when it comes to what qualifies as music, hell singing even (auto-tune? no bueno), and this sista right here has got it- I mean she’s really got it. Imagine my disappointment when I realized she was just in Seattle in Aug/September ’10.

Her latest album is Concrete Jungle available on iTunes and Amazon MP3 downloads.  If you’re old fashioned and want an actual physical CD, Amazon has those too.  I didn’t hesitate to cop the MP3 and you shouldn’t either. If you like conscious music with a distinct, layered sound, this is it.

Aside from her musicality and brilliance on the mic, I love this woman for her love of her country, and her honesty about its ills. Stan for life. That’s me.

From her bio:

For nineteen years she soaked up the sounds and rhythms of one of the most musical nations on the planet, a country where expressing yourself through song is just a part of everyday life, a country that has music in its very DNA, where the influence of giants like Afrobeat revolutionary Fela Kuti is never far away.

But at the age of 19 this modest and hard-working young girl made the big decision to leave behind the African way of life. To further her education, she moved not just to Europe but to Northern Europe, to the industrial seaport of Hamburg in Germany. For the young Nneka, it was a dramatic change, and there remains an intangible quality in her voice that speaks of being a long, long way from home.

HEARTBEAT

And now the world is asleep
How will you ever wake her up when she is deep in her dreams, wishing
And yet so many die
And still we think that it is all about us
It's all about you
You sold your soul to the evil and the lust
And the passion and the money and you
See the same ones die, people hunger for decades
Suffer under civilized armedrobbers, modern slaveholders

[vsw id=”6ivg3J3h5Ps” source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]

SUFFRI

Una dey talk of ur elections, Nigerians, Nigerians,
We dey talk of the redemption, naija, naija
We dey talk of resolutions, oya
Tell me where the solution because nothing dey change
We just dey yan, we just dey spray, we just dey rake,
All these lies so

Suffri, suffri with my soul, jeh jeh jeh jeh
Suffri, suffri with my soul, Oga you dey hear me oh say
Suffri, suffri with my soul jeh jeh jeh jeh
Dont you tamper with my soul, eh eh

[vsw id=”4ytxjppXadM” source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]

WALKING

[vsw id=”GIDjwGChFo4″ source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]

COME WITH ME

Come let us be truthful, surrender our pride
Admit the stains on our, our chest, our hands
We seek, we find, we take, we kill
Our love is hate, our smiles are fake
Take my body, take my hands,
Take everything you have created
Take your riches, take your money, take everything
But not my experience
No, no

Chorus
No you cannot take my experience away,
No you can’t take my soul away,
No you can’t make me go astray
Because I know where I stand
No you cannot take my experience away,
No you can’t take my soul away,
No you can’t make me go astray
Because I know where my father is

[vsw id=”30RDGAmrKSg” source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]

FOCUS

[vsw id=”4OY0mKuYiaI” source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 10:26 am

    Love your commentaries and happy to find this site with such potent, wonderful, inspiring music!! Thanks you for you fine work!

Leave a Reply

