Skip to content

If It’s NOT Racism, Then Why…

July 29, 2009
by

If you don’t already know it’s hot as hell in the greater Seattle area. We topped out at 103 degrees today and as I typed we’re hovering right around 102. Now, I want to take the liberty to address anyone and everyone in other parts of the country who think we don’t experience hot weather. We do. The Pacific Northwest of 20 years ago, even 10 years ago, is NOT the PNW of today. We have crazy snow and now apparently insane heat. So to all ya’ll who think we some punks and all that, I salute you with my favorite finger. Hey, it may not be hot as hell here on a regular, but when it IS, we suffer more than ya’ll because basically no one in the area has air conditioning in their homes. So while ya’ll are screaming to keep the doors closed because “the air is on!” we’re baking.

Okay now that I got that out of my system I can move on to this post, which, funny enough may wind up being shorter than the sidebar I just had. But whatever. It’s hot, I’m cranky and don’t give a f*ck anyway.

I want to talk to all ya’ll who think that race has nothing to do with nothing; not the number of unsolved murders of young Black men in the 206, not the arrest of Henry Louis Gates Jr., not the incarcertation rate amongst black men vs. white men, not the achievement gap- nothing. Race has nothing to do with nothing.

Let’s also address you fools- I mean, people who think that since we have a Black man as president that racism is dead.

Take of the rose colored shades or the blinders or whatever the hell you got on and pay attention to the world around you. Race has everything to do with everything. And racism can touch the life of a minority when they least expect it.

As a website webmaster, I get a lot of information about who comes to the SV site and what brings them here. For example, I can see how many people search the name “sable verity” and come to the site from their search. Any time anything in this country happens that involves race- I usually write about it, thus when it is searched, I can see what people searched which brought them to my site.

Would you like to know some of the top searched phrases that brought folks to the SV to read my coverage of the Henry Louis Gates Jr debacle?

Professor Nigger
Gates Nigger
Cambridge Nigger
Harvard Nigger
Nigger Gates
Skip Nigger (Skip is Gates’ nickname)
Arrested Nigger

Why are so many people using the word nigger if race has nothing to do with it? I’m just asking…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    July 29, 2009 9:30 pm

    SV
    You are so on. Earlier I was having a conversation about Michael Vick and what part racism played in his arrest and his return to the NFL. “Forty Million Dollar Slaves” pretty much sums it up. Racism is everywhere and can never be discounted or ignored.

    And it’s tragic that those search words came up. And proof that we have a long ways to go.

    Steph

  2. Dennis Adams permalink
    July 29, 2009 10:41 pm

    Something my father used to always ssay to me “white people know they’re racist. Charging them with it is useless. You ain’t telling them nothin that they don’t already know”

    Now does this mean that every causcasian out there is a hardened bigot? Of course not. It means that the claims of ignorance surrounding a particularly nasty event, like the recent Gates/Crowley one event are not necessarily innocent.

  3. Karla permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:53 am

    Why did your site pop up with those search terms? Or maybe I’m missing something. My neurons might not be firing properly. (its hot as a mofo and the A/C in our office is not working properly).

    Anyhoo – As usual, I totally agree with your post.

  4. Sable permalink
    July 30, 2009 10:26 am

    I’ve used the “n word” on my site. That coupled with “Gates” and wallah!

Leave a Reply

